Estonian Translation Services

With a large network of in-country, professional Estonian translators, Verbatim Solutions can respond quickly and effectively to your Estonian language translation needs.

Verbatim Solutions provides professional, high quality Estonian to English translations and English to Estonian translations. Our Estonian translation services will help you maximize your global strategy.

Native Speaking Estonian Translators

Our Estonian translation teams are professional linguists performing translation from English to Estonian and Estonian to English for a variety of documents in various industries including:

  • Automotive
  • Finance
  • Government
  • Legal
  • Marketing
  • Medical
  • Technical
  • Telecommunications

About Estonian

Estonia has been populated by the native Finno Ugric Estonians since prehistory. It was first christianised when the German Sword Brethren and Denmark conquered the land by 1227. Subsequent foreign powers that controlled Estonia at various times included Denmark, Sweden, Poland and finally Russia.

Following the collapse of Imperial Russia after the October Revolution, Estonia declared its independence as a republic on 24 February 1918. Forcibly incorporated into the Soviet Union in June 1940, it regained its freedom on 20 August 1991 with the Singing Revolution and collapse of the Soviet Union. 20 August remains a national holiday in Estonia because of this.

Since the last Russian troops left on 31 August 1994, Estonia has been free to promote economic and political ties with Western Europe and outside, becoming a member of NATO on 29 March 2004. Estonia opened accession negotiations with the European Union in 1998 and joined on 1 May 2004.

Estonia is a constitutional democracy, with a president elected by the parliament (elections every five years) and a unicameral parliament. The government or the executive branch is formed by the prime minister, nominated by the president, and a total of 14 ministers. The government is appointed by the president after approval by the parliament.

Legislative power lies with the unicameral parliament, the Riigikogu or State Assembly, which holds 101 seats. Members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms. The supreme judiciary court is the National Court or Riigikohus, with 17 justices whose chairman is appointed by the parliament for life on nomination by the president.